A free anthology collects stories from 2017’s new sci-fi and fantasy writers

Don’t underestimate pandas, their bodies can neutralize cyanide
March 18, 2018
The US Navy’s newest submarine comes with an Xbox controller
March 18, 2018

Each year, the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer honors a new writer in the field of science fiction and fantasy: an author who has professionally published a short story or novel in the past two years. Last year, Too Like The Lightning author Ada Palmer took home the award.
Last year, author Jake Kerr compiled The Event Horizon 2017 anthology, a massive, two-volume, 400,000-word ebook that collected stories from 75 authors. This year's anthology contains 59 stories, and like last year's edition, it's free for ePub, MOBI or PDF formats, while you can choose a print edition for $ 15 at Amazon. Both editions will only be available until July 15, 2018.

Image: Jake Kerr

In his introduction to the book, Kerr notes that each author was allowed to present a single work, in an effort to make the anthology a slightly less overwhelming reading. In spite of that, it continues to surpass in a little less than 300,000 words.
The winner of the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer this year will be named this year at the 76th World Sci-Fi Convention, which will be held in San Jose, California, August 16-20.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.